Regional re-organisation of Eparchy of Great Britain

When the Eparchy of Great Britain was established in 2016, the Syro Malabar Holy Qurbana centres existent at the time were grouped into eight geographical regions for streamlining pastoral arrangements and administrative purposes. Since then there has been a significant increase in the number of Syro Malabar faithful migrating to the UK, especially during the recent years.

This prompted a review of the regional groupings. After a detailed study and consultation, Bishop Mar Joseph Srampickal announce the new regional reorganisation of the Eparchy, which will come into effect from this Easter Sunday, 9th April 2023. There will be 12 regions and some of these are linked to the significant ecclessial and spiritual places in the history of Christianity in Britain, as listed below:

1. Birmingham 2. Bristol-Cardiff 3. Cambridge 4. Canterbury 5. Leeds 6. Leicester

7. London 8. Manchester 9. Oxford 10. Preston 11. Scotland 12. Southampton

Further details are available in the attached Circular 03/2023 Click here to read the circular

Bishops Office
St.Ignatius Presbytery,
St. Alphonsa of the Immaculate Conception Cathedral
St.Ignatius Square,
PR11TT ,
Tel : +44 (0) 1772587186
Email :
Web :